This biennial award, open to qualified architects everywhere and endorsed by the UIA since 2013, seeks to recognize architectural diversity and to encourage new ideas and research, new realisations and exemplary new implementations of urban planning and architectural projects globally.
Participants from 38 countries entered the 2019 edition of the Award and the international jury recognised winners from 18 countries: South Africa, Egypt, China, Georgia, Japan, Azerbaijan, Kenya, Iran, Slovakia, Portugal, Malaysia, Spain, Argentina, UAE, Greece, Hong Kong, Denmark, Bangladesh.
In the context of the COVID-19 pandemic, the fifth anniversary edition of the Award will be held online.

Entries are invited in the following categories:
A – Implemented public architecture project;
B – Implemented residential architecture project;
C – Implemented interior;
D – Non-realised project;
E – Implemented landscape architecture project;
F – Rehabilitation and reconstruction of historic buildings project;
G – Architecture publication.

Architects duly qualified for architectural practice in their country of residence may participate in the Award. Each participant can submit only one project for each category. Participation is free of charge.
All questions concerning the Award procedure should be sent to the prize organisers:
The working languages of the competition: Azerbaijani, Russian and English.
Three prizes will be attributed in each category. The prize fund of 52 500 AZN (25,668 Euros*) will be awarded as follows:
First Prize: 4000 AZN (1 960 Euros)
Second Prize: 2500 AZN (1 224 Euros)
Third Prize:1000 AZN (490 Euros)
*Prize money in Euros is approximate

For the Award procedure, regulations or other information, visit the competition website.